An Introduction of Sorts

I have been conflicted about how much of myself to give away within the first blog. I wonder if it would be more fun to let you all discover who I am beyond age, location, religious beliefs, political stances, etc. (as the list continues through every other possible bias I am naturally prone to.) But then again, there are those who know me personally and perhaps it’d be foolish and naive to believe that they can see me past what they have already decided me to be. So here is an informal declaration of what I currently know about myself and would like to share with you all:

I am a 20 year-old woman living in East Los Angeles, California, USA. I am Mexican-American and have faced the X-generation struggle of trying to fit into either category. I grew up in a single-mother household, but still visited with my father on a regular basis. My mother is currently on her third deployment with the U.S. army, and I am taking a year off of college to help take care of my younger sister, who is my only sibling. Religiously, I believe in God, but I do not like to partake in institutionalized religions although I admire many aspects of various religions. Politically, I lean toward the left, but I am more moderate that extreme. I am a planner and constantly fret about the future. I aspire to find love, happiness, and success (perhaps just one will suffice) as most people do, and I fear the only obstacle is myself.

As of late, my thoughts have become a burden on my mind, filling it beyond capacity allows and making it difficult for me to express myself. Therefore I hope that this blog can serve as a space where I can allow these notions to float freely amongst the interweb clouds so that I can refocus on the daily tasks I must attend to. What I write is not aimed to offend and I apologize in advance if it does. I also encourage you all to comment and begin a discussion if it so pleases you. Furthermore, I hope that this blog can serve as a place to share some drafts of my poetry as some people have asked of me. For now this all I have and know about this blog. I hope to share some more substantial thoughts with you all sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

